Prof Luke ONG

Senior Vice President (Research), Nanyang Technological University

Professor Luke Ong joined NTU as a Distinguished University Professor in August 2022 and has taken up the appointment of Vice President (Research) since January 2023. Prior to joining NTU, he was Lecturer then Professor of Computer Science at the University of Oxford (1994-2022); Fellow of Merton College, Oxford (1994-2022); Honorary Professor of Computer Science, Bristol University (since 2022); Shaw Visiting Professor at National University of Singapore; and Prize Research Fellow, Trinity College, Cambridge (1988-1994). Throughout his long stay in Oxford, Professor Ong has supervised well over 60 doctoral students and postdocs.

Professor Ong is one of the leading figures and inventors of game semantics and its applications. His solution (with Hyland) to the PCF Full Abstraction Problem opened up the field of game semantics; and their constructions, known as Hyland-Ong games, have become standard notions in the semantics of programming languages. Professor Ong is also known for his pioneering contribution in the field of verification.

Professor Ong obtained his B.A. in Mathematics (1984, Triple First), a Postgraduate Diploma in Computer Science (1985, Distinction) from Trinity College, University of Cambridge; and a PhD in Computer Science (1988) from Imperial College, University of London.


Governing Board

Research Interest

Professor Ong's research is broad, ranging across semantics of computation, programming languages, verification, logic and algorithms, and algorithmic game theory. A notable feature of his work is the combination of ideas and methods from semantics and structures, with techniques from automated verification.

His current research interests include computer and cyber security, higher-order logic and satisfiability modulo theories, and probabilistic and differentiable programming.

Key Publications


2017 Joint winner of the Alonzo Church Award for Outstanding Contributions to Logic and Computation
1981 President of the Republic of Singapore Scholarship
1980 Prime Minister’s Book Prize